Design, Nanny, Self, Spirituality

plans for the room.

Well, before I describe those, allow me to note that my Lenten fast from artificial sugar has brought on some unexpected consequences. As in, I feel so deprived that I’ve been gorging on anything nonsugary I can get my hands on: i.e., an entire tuna sub with a bowl of french onion soup, plus a whole bag of multigrain tortilla chips for dinner– multigrain not to be healthy; I just like them better. Also, half a tub of cottage cheese yesterday, and a whole cup of trailmix along with my breakfast of cereal and avocado toast. So, like, it’s all healthy, right? But I feel disgusting. The only moments I have felt better have been immediately after exercising. Then it’s back to slightly ill.

Ah, the joys of Lent. As the two year olds I nanny would say, “Get it together, Meesa.”

Everything is coming up so fast. I’m supposed to move into my new place in under two weeks, but I haven’t even put in my 30 days with my current landlords yet. And I haven’t told my new roommate about the delay. Or worked on my thesis in two weeks. Or finished a single homework assignment for my class. Or started hunting down a mattress and bed frame.

Instead, I’ve been trying to decide if I want to invest in a new duvet or wallpaper for my room. I don’t particularly want to paint again, except for spraypainting the brackets of the wall shelves that came installed with the room. But which splurge I want to make depends on whether I decide on the lofted bed or a regular one. If the regular one, I need a new duvet badly. I’ve spilled hot chocolate, candle wax, and Indian food on this one. But if it’s lofted, then no one but me will see it, and the more pressing need is to cover up the ugly mushroom colored wall color.

SO. I’m probably going to opt for a removable wallpaper. Something like this.

Anyway. That’s what I’ve been up to. Wasting time on interior design instead of doing the things my life requires. Win!

Standard

Leave a Reply

